Standing tall at the highest point of Tennyson down (formally the High Down) is the Tennyson Monument an impressive memorial to Alfred Lord Tennyson the Victorian Poet Laureate.
Designed by 1897 by J.L.Pearson and built by Farmer & Brindley in 1897 this marble Celtic cross with tapered stem stands with a perfect backdrop of both land and sea.
Alfred Lord Tennyson and his wife Emily once lived at the Farringford in Bedbury Lane now home to a restaurant and small gold course, during their time in residence they had many illustrious guest from Victorian Britain. Tenneyson could often been found walking the Downs and the stunning Isle of Wight landscape is famed for being the inspiration behind some of his most famous poems including The Charge of the Light Brigade.
After his death in 1892 a fund was started to raise money for the memorial to be built, the location chosen was once the site of the old Nodes signal beacon used to give warning of invasion threats. On the pillar of the memorial is an inscription which reads ‘In memory of Alfred Lord Tennyson this Cross is raised as a beacon to sailors by the people of Freshwater and other friends in England and America.’
The memorial is part of the Tennyson downs walk which is one of the Islands most famous walks.